My Experience Writing a First Draft

Hi all,

Today I wanted to talk about my experience in writing a first draft and how not to get discouraged when getting through it. For me personally the rough copy is always my favorite draft, it allows me to pour out all of my ideas for a novel without worrying about it being polished and released for anyone to read.

As I was writing the first draft for “Yesterdays Galaxy” I encountered plenty of issues concerning doubt – something us writers get a lot of the time. Will this really be any good? Who will want to read this? Those similar questions ran through my mind all the way throughout completion of the first draft. It’s only natural, right?

I find that constant reminding is necessary to help me not give up on the novel just because the first draft isn’t that good. I’m a perfectionist unfortunately, I’ll go over and over a scene until I’m satisfied with it and forget that the editing can come later. That’s where the positive reinforcement comes in.

Even if it’s just a poster from some website or a quote from an author telling whoever pays attention that first drafts are ALWAYS very bad, it’s useful for me to just get a small reminder that the first draft/rough copy is always rubbish so there’s really no need to edit. From there on I’ve felt more confident in what I write, often I do hesitate over a scene or a line of dialogue but if there’s anything that I’m pondering changing, whether it’s a flow of dialogue or a scene, I tend to write out an alternative of that exchange of dialogue or scene on a separate document.
If I like the alternate better than I’ll go for it but if undecided I can always leave the alternate and come back to it later.

Anywho, I hope you found some of the things I do when dealing with the first draft helpful. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to read my blog post and have a wonderful weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

